News Releases

    • AbitibiBowater Canada Inc. - Appointment of Directors and Officers
          AXB (TSX)
          MONTREAL, May 13 /CNW Telbec/ - AbitibiBowater Canada Inc. (TSX: AXB)
      today reported that the following individuals have been appointed sole
      directors of AbitibiBowater Canada Inc. The Company's Board of Directors also
      appointed these individuals as sole officers of AbitibiBowater Canada Inc., in
      the positions indicated below:
          Mr. David J. Paterson, as President
          Mr. Alain Grandmont, as Vice President
          Mr. William G. Harvey, as Vice President and Treasurer
          Mr. Pierre Rougeau, as Vice President
          Mr. Jacques P. Vachon, as Vice President and Secretary
          About AbitibiBowater Canada Inc.
          AbitibiBowater Canada Inc. is an indirect subsidiary of AbitibiBowater
      Inc. AbitibiBowater Canada Inc.'s exchangeable shares are traded on the
      Toronto Stock Exchange under the symbol AXB and are exchangeable on a
      one-for-one basis for shares of AbitibiBowater Inc. common stock.
      For further information:
      For further information: Investors: Duane Owens, Vice President and
      Treasurer, (514) 394-3268,; Media and Others:
      Seth Kursman, Vice President, Communications and Government Affairs, (514)